Menu Close



The NSW Canyoning Association is run by a committee of volunteers.

The current committee members are:


President (Acting) & Events Co-ordinator: Damo Anderson

“I got my first taste of canyoning way back in the 80’s having spent my youth growing up in the bush on bikes and general exploring. I’m passionate about the future of canyoning here in Australia and the environmental challenges it faces.  I want people to enjoy canyoning but also to learn about the dangers of the activity and the impact they may be having on the environment. Treat the canyons with respect and they’ll treat you the same.”



Vice President (Acting) & South Coast Regional Representative: Tom Begic

Tom developed a love for outdoor adventure as a child and continues to indulge in activities such as canyoning, caving, bushwalking, snow camping, parachuting, diving, and photography all around the world. He has served on committees and boards for over 30 years in various roles. Skill development, risk management, preservation, and access, are areas of particular interest.



Secretary: David Fisher                                             

David first dabbled in canyoning nigh on 40 years ago as a diversion from his then obsession of caving. He’s still a keen caver along with canyoning & bushwalking.



                                                          Treasurer: Mike Patterson

“A life long love of wild places has taken me bushwalking and rock climbing all over Australia, Italy, France and the UK. I’m now making the most of my Blue Mountains home by combining all those activities in canyoning.”



The committee is assisted by additional volunteers appointed by the committee:

Publicity Officer, Graphic Designer, Joint Webmaster:

Mark Norman 

A prolific canyoner, Mark has canyoned extensively in Australia, Europe and New Zealand. His passions in Canyoning are for whitewater, first descents, sharing knowledge and helping to create and foster positive connections within the whole canyoning community.

NPWS & Membership Officer:

Aine Gliddon

Recently retired after forty years of working within the National Parks and Wildlife Service. Aine has been an active canyoner and bushwalker since the early 70’s. She brings a wealth of practical and logistical experience to the committee table.


Tom Brennan

Tom has been bushwalking and canyoning for nearly twenty years, and is the webmaster of the well known OZultimate Canyoning website. He has been involved in volunteering with numerous associations over the years, and served over 10 years in various committee roles. Many of his canyoning trips have been exploratory ones into the heart of the Wollemi Wilderness, but he has also canyoned overseas in Utah, Italy, France, Spain and NZ.


Craig Flynn

A prolific canyoner with vast local knowledge of the greater Blue Mountains Cayons. Craig is a wealth of knowledge and a great character of the local canyoning scene here in NSW. He loves leading groups into the bush and sharing technical knowledge with all comers and is a major contributor to the NSWCA. Craig also writes a blog on every trip he does at


Gabby Faura

She’s crazy about canyoning this girl! Loves it. Gabby’s another great character of our scene, always so happy and very humble. She’s a mother of 4 and takes all her kids out canyoning regularly too. Gabby’s a major help within the NSWCA also.

Regional Representative Officer – North Coast:

Laurence Alderton

“I have been an enthusiastic canyoner, bushwalker, whitewater kayaker & rock climber since my Scouting days. I am currently a canyoning and kayaking leader with the Brisbane Water Outdoor Club and a canyoning and bushwalking leader with New Zealand Alpine Club. I have a strong passion for local canyon exploration also”

Regional Representative Officer – Southern Highlands:

Murray Newman

“I live in the Bungonia area and have worked as an assistant guide. Other than canyoning, I enjoy multi day ‘off track walking’ through the Morton National park. My other interests include pack rafting, climbing and sea kayaking.”


The association and its members are bound by the association’s constitution.

Download the Constitution.